Your sorrow will turn into joy


20 Truly, truly, I say to you, you will weep and lament, but the world will rejoice; you will be sorrowful, but your sorrow will turn into joy. 21 When a woman is in travail she has sorrow, because her hour has come; but when she is delivered of the child, she no longer remembers the  anguish, for joy that a child is born into the world. 22 So you have sorrow now, but I will see you again and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you. – Jn 16: 20-22

Last night, I went to jog together with a few friends. I was excited because it has been so long since my last jog. And I like to jog because it relieves the stress of work.

We left our backpack in the middle of the park where there’s a lot of people stretching and doing yoga. We started to jog around the park which is around half kilometer stretch. After 2 rounds, I saw that my backpack is already missing. I immediately looked around to see if the culprit is still in view but to my dismay.

In my prayer time today, I was struck by the line “but your sorrow will turn into joy”. I was sad of what happened last night. On my way to work, I found myself staring blankly in space thinking about what happened. I still couldn’t believe it did happen. You might be wondering what’s inside my back pack, it’s my work clothes – polo, slacks, leather shoes and my watch as well.

God will turn my sorrow into joy. My experience last night made my realize the reality of bad things brought about by sin. But the scripture reading today reminded me to look forward for heaven. The place where my sorrow will turn into joy because there will be no more of the bad things brought about by sin in this world. In heaven, my joy will be complete because I will be face to face with the first love of my heart and the true fount of my joy. In heaven, I will see my Lord and I will rejoice and no one could ever take my joy from me. I thank the Lord for his wonderful promise of being with him in heaven.

Leave a Reply

