Confession of a disciple


“When God is involved, it’s not necessary the giftedness of the leader that prompts God’s blessing; it’s more often the leader’s willingness to move when & where He indicates.” – John Maxwell (from The 21 Most Powerful Minutes in a Leader’s Day)

One of my routine everyday before going to work is to read a chapter of John Maxwell’s book  ‘The 21 Most Powerful Minutes in a Leader’s Day. And in one of the chapter I recently read, I was struck by John’s word, which I quoted above.  Mainly because I’ve also experienced the Lord’s blessing in the same way.

I would share my reflection not on a leader’s platform but through a perspective of a disciple who desires to faithfully follow the Lord. So, let me quote John’s word again,

“When God is involved, it’s not necessary the giftedness of the person that prompts God’s blessing; it’s more often the person’s willingness to move when & where He indicates.”

Three years ago, in one of my prayer time, I heard the Lord prompting me to once again serve him through the community. Yes, I once decided not to pursue community life anymore. And when I heard the Lord calling me, I was really not inclined to obey… simply because, nakakahiya mang aminin, but I’m not a confident person. I would always say, ‘Sya na lang Lord, he can do it better anyway’.

For quite some time, that would work. The Lord would just let me have it my way. But then the Lord, with all his love, desires that I may grow, and so he get back to me later on. And is now confronting me with the same call again.

My usual reply – ‘Sya na lang Lord, he can do it better anyway’. ‘Di ko kaya yan.’

The Lord said, ‘But it is you that I am calling to do it.’

I keep on reasoning out to the Lord. Ranting all my limitations to him. Presenting my ingiftedness, finding my way out not to obey.

Then the Lord said,

‘Mark, what I’m asking from you is your availability. Are you willing to make yourself available?’

To cut the long story short, I did obey because I love the Lord.

I started attending prayer meetings of Ang Lingkod ng Panginoon. My first service is playing the guitar during the worship because that is the only service that I know. I was happy serving in the music ministry then. Contented & happy to be exact. But the Lord was not yet happy that I’m growing only in the area that I know of. And so, through my leader, the Lord called me to take another step in serving him. That is when I was asked to lead a prayer meeting. My reply was to  assigned me on a prayer meeting 3 months from that day. And a number of service was asked of me along the way. Each service, something that I’m not familiar with. Services that I’m not confident to do because I know I’m not good at it or not gifted with it. And in every service, the Lord would only ask me for one thing – my availability.

Looking back now, I’m thankful for every step of service that he called me to. For each commitment that I made with the Lord, I was blessed more than anyone else. I learned new skills, I grow in character, was able to witnessed to my brothers & sisters, & the best of it all, I was able to serve & obey the Lord.

Going back to Maxwell’s words, my conviction grew even more that our God bless those who are willing to  obey. That boldness to step out of our comfort zone in order to please the Lord. That willingness to be used by the Lord despite challenges & fears of our incapabilities. The very disposition of putting ourselves at the disposal of the Lord, plays a big factor for God to bless us. It’s ironic that when we give ourselves away for service, we realize at the end of the day, it is us who were blessed all the more.

I believe that God’s equation is service = blessing.

If we want to grow in the Lord even more, it is necessary that we have service. If we want to be blessed even more, we should serve.  It doesn’t mean that we should know it all, after all, what the Lord is asking is our availability. We will learn the skill along the way. The Lord will supply the necessary grace that we need.

“If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it.” (Lk 9: 23-24)

The bottom line: God desires that his people may have life. God desires to bless his people. – his only requirement: our availability.

When we give ourselves away for service of the Lord, we are being transformed, we are being changed, & we are being blessed. Amen.

Leave a Reply

